Feasts

I wanted to say, first, sorry I have been so quiet on here the last week. I have been sick, but I am finally starting to feel better. So yay!!! On to the good stuffs.

I saw something today that really bothered me. The entire time I was watching “The Jesus Guy” movie I was uncomfortable. It was a show about this man who has made a name for himself as ‘the Jesus guy’. I guess he has been on the news sometimes, and papers have written up articles about him. I had never heard of him before this moment. When I saw the title of the movie, and heard the first few comments I became excited. I thought …how wonderful! A man devoted to the Gospel and to living a life like our Lord and Savior. Then I watched the rest of it.

A lot of things concerned me, but I will stick to the three most profound things. “The Jesus Guy” was supposed to be about this man’s ministry according to the Gospel of God. What bothered me is that I never once saw this man open the Bible he carried around with him. He never opened it to preach from it. He never opened the Bible to speak about a passage or to show someone a passage. The Bible seemed like nothing more than a prop.

This bothers me because this world is starving for God. This world needs Christ’s words, and the only way …the ONLY way…to give the world the Word of God is to be IN the Word of God. The only way to share Christ is to open His book and read His words. To quote His teachings rather than what people today think and say about religion. I can’t live a Godly life unless I am in the Bible every day. I can’t commune with my Savior unless I spend time in His words spoken by His tongue. The Bible isn’t something you simply hold on to; it is something you always have opened. We are supposed to cling to the words written on those pages, we aren’t supposed to cling to the binding of those pages. It is the Word of God written in those pages that is important. Those words are the words that matter.

Which brings me to the second point of “The Jesus Guy” that didn’t sit right. This man asked the question “What is the most important food?” several times.

 

“Jesus answered, ‘It is written: ‘Man does not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.’’” Matthew 4:4

As for the person who hears My words but does not keep them, I do not judge him. For I did not come to judge the world, but to save it. There is a judge for the one who rejects Me and does not accept My words; that very word which I spoke will condemn him at the last day. For I did not speak of My own accord, but the Father who sent Me commanded Me what to say and how to say it. I know that His command leads to eternal life. So whatever I say is just what the Father has told Me to say.” John 12:47-50

“He replied, ‘Blessed are those who hear the word of God and obey it.’” Luke 11:28

Just to give a few examples of how to answer that question. If you spend time in God’s words and read the Bible the answer to the question is clear. The most important food is the Word of God. Christ lived off the Word of God for 40 days and nights in the desert. Perhaps if this man opened the Bible he carried around in his hand he would know this answer. If he would just open up that book and feast on the Heavenly Father’s guidance he might actually get and understand what it is he is attempting to talk about.

We need the Word of God to live better lives. We need the Word of God to understand our salvation. We need the Word of God to live a close and personal relationship with Christ Jesus. We need the Word of God to be our daily bread and our everlasting water. Everything else, everything less, is just physical. Only Christ and His word are beyond the reach of this world. The Bible, God’s words and Christ’s teachings, are the most important food to every last soul on this planet. Saved or not saved. Believer or unbeliever. Our denial, acceptance, ignorance, and every other excuse we can come up with doesn’t change that fact. And this is a fact this man doesn’t even know, much less understand.

The last thing that bothered me was the secrecy. Jesus didn’t walk about hiding who He was. Jesus never told anyone He couldn’t tell them His name. Jesus never told His Apostles to keep their identity quiet. He didn’t care about their past, that made them a better Witness. He didn’t tell Paul…don’t tell anyone who you were or where you come from…keep it a secret. Loving Christ shouldn’t be a secret. When you serve Christ there is nothing to be ashamed of. There is nothing to hide.

If you are honestly trying to walk in the steps of the Apostles then embrace it. Christ loves every last one of us despite our pasts. He loves every last one of us despite our futures. He loves us in our most despicable of states. He loves us in our most loathsome moments. To hide that, to hide our past, our failures, our mistakes, and our screw-up’s…is to put more emphasis on our shame than on the very JUBILANT fact that Christ loves us anyway. My sins, shortcomings, deplorable moments are forgiven. I will not let them control me because Christ has set me free.

Following the word of God is about freedom. And the Truth will set you free. The love of Christ doesn’t chain you down with shame. It doesn’t lock you in mystery. The love of Christ makes you shine; even in your darkest places you are meant to shine. His light should never be placed in a valley or behind shuttered windows. Christ’s light is about second chances…and about witnessing to others the changes you have gone through because of His love.

I could go on and on. These are very key elements to Christian Faith. And as I said this world is starved for our Savior. It breaks my heart to see it feasting on straw…refuse…and convincing itself it is a feast for kings. The real feast is in your book store, on a forgotten shelf in your home, or in a drawer in most hotels. It is the Bible. Open the book up. Find out for yourself. Feast on God, and His word. It is the only way to have something more than what this world has to offer.

If you want to watch the video for yourself, here is the link. The Jesus Guy

Leave a Reply

