God will carry it home

If I could say just one thing
I wouldn’t know the words
Everything I have seems so pale and so old
Heavy with centuries of human mistakes
That take away from the beauty of all that they mean
Shadowed remains of once mighty things
And what I feel is so much more
Than the remnants of forgotten thoughts and dreams

If I could scream what it is that I feel
You wouldn’t know, you wouldn’t hear
So I whisper a wish on the wind
And hope and I pray that one day
God will carry it home

My tongue feels so empty
And my mouth is a void
My greedy heart has taken up
All that is left of me
Flooding my veins
With all the things that I just can’t say
Unwanted words
Scrawling so endlessly
Beneath my skin

Tormenting me from within
And every breath I take
Sends a new surge
Of welcomed, inky, fire
To scorch this brand into my soul

If I could scream what it is that I feel
You wouldn’t know, you wouldn’t hear
So I whisper a wish on the wind
And hope and I pray that one day
God will carry it home
That God will carry it home

If only my arms were long enough
I could reach across this great divide
To show you …

But I am not the creator of this chasm
The distance is not orchestrated by my design
So here I wait on my side on my knees in the dirt
Hoping that when you look back to see
You won’t find another disappointment in me

If I could scream what it is that I feel
You wouldn’t know, you wouldn’t hear
So I whisper a wish on the wind
And hope and I pray that one day
God will carry it home

You wouldn’t hear the words from my lips
You wouldn’t know the tattoo of my heart
And every tear that I cry would be another drop
Of forgiving rain sent from the sky

So I whisper a wish on the wind
And I hope and I pray that one day
Yes I hope and I pray that one day
God will carry it home.
That God will carry it home
That God will carry it home
That God will carry it home
That God will carry me home

Leave a Reply

